• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Assembling Grant Searle's ExBasROM.asm and burning to ROM?

ncherry

Experienced Member
Short:
How did you burn the ExBasROM (modified CoCo BASIC) into the SBC's 16K ROM? Not how you used an PROM burner, I have lots of experience with that but how did you fit the file (which is starting at $007C, not $DB00) into the 16K ROM (which starts at $C000)?

Long:
I've built a Grant Searle 6 chip Motorola 6809 (7 chip actually) SBC and I'm quite happy with the board. So in preparation to power up the board I've assembled the ExBasROM code. I've assembled the source with as9. I've tested the S19 file with a 6809 emulator, it works.

So far, so good.

So I have a nice 28C256, minipro (Linux) and TL866II+. I've erased the chip and it checks clean. So I'm getting ready to burn the S19 and I find this little gem:

Code:
S10A007C0C8426020C83B67C
S10600857EDCBF5B

First line shown is at address of $007C ($0A + $06 bytes). RAM starts at $0 (thru $7FFF). ROM at $C000, code starts at $D800 through $FFFF. That code in the listing (below) is

Code:
0107 007a                    EXECJP    RMB  2              LB4AA 
0109                         * THIS ROUTINE PICKS UP THE NEXT INPUT CHARACTER FROM                      
0110                         * BASIC. THE ADDRESS OF THE NEXT BASIC BYTE TO BE                      
0111                         * INTERPRETED IS STORED AT CHARAD.                      
0112 007c 0c 84              GETNCH    INC  <CHARAD+1      *PV INCREMENT LS BYTE OF INPUT POINTER 
0113 007e 26 02                        BNE  GETCCH         *PV BRANCH IF NOT ZERO (NO CARRY) 
0114 0080 0c 83                        INC  <CHARAD        *PV INCREMENT MS BYTE OF INPUT POINTER 
0115 0082 b6                 GETCCH    FCB  $B6            *PV OP CODE OF LDA EXTENDED 
0116 0083                    CHARAD    RMB  2              *PV THESE 2 BYTES CONTAIN ADDRESS OF THE CURRENT