• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Bad Video on TI-99/4A?

TMA-1

Experienced Member
I recently picked up a TI-99/4A on Kijiji. (Shhhhh,... don't tell my wife I bought ANOTHER computer.) Back in the day I was a poor student and therefore a ZX81 man, but I was always jealous of the full keyboard and features of the better but more expensive TI. Now that I finally have one, I find it may have gone bad in the interim.

Turning it on (for the first time in years?), I get the picture below. It looks similar to what I expected, but garbled somehow. Alas I do not yet have direct experience to compare it with, but it doesn't look right at all. With a cartridge in place it seems to play a game, but I can't follow what is happening and my keystrokes are random guesses at best. That would indicate most of the computer is still functioning, and perhaps just the video section is bad somehow. I've tried it on two televisions, a modern flat and a vintage black & white. Both show the same strong yet jumbled output.

Does anyone recognize the distortion shown? Does it point to something fixable? Thanks in advance.

IMAG0001.jpg

Does it do this consistently, or does it intermittently operate normally?

It looks like either an issue with the video RAM or the VDP chip.

The VDP chip is in a socket, so a good place to start is to disassemble it and re-seat the VDP chip, while checking to see if there is any corrosion in the socket. A bad connection somewhere wouldn't be surprising at all.

If you had a second TI console you could swap out the VDP chip to rule out if a faulty VDP chip is the problem or not.

If things intermittently go back to normal, it could also be a bad solder connection around the VDP or RAM.

It looks like it could be a faulty RAM chip. Replacement 16k DRAM chips are not too hard to find, but those are soldered on to the board, making them difficult to replace.

Hi SomeGuy,