• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Does *any* DOS IRC- Server exist?

TNC

Experienced Member
Hi there,

I`m searching the web for countless hours for a IRC- Server for DOS. Nothing. Does anybody know of one?

I know that Mike Chambers wrote a Client, is it possible that he might write a Server? :D

For myself I have no programming experience.

greets.

I'm not aware of any but if the machine is a 386 or better, running a Linux distribution on it is completely viable, and there are several IRC server packages for the various distributions of Linux. I ran an IRC server on a 25 MHz 486sx for quite some time and it worked very well.

Well, the Problem is, that the Server has only 2 MB RAM, no way to upgrade. I think it will swap the swap process. :D

A possibly another Server is a 286 1 MB RAM booksize PC. The main reason for the IRC Server is to give them a new useful life. :)

Hi there,

I`m searching the web for countless hours for a IRC- Server for DOS. Nothing. Does anybody know of one?

I know that Mike Chambers wrote a Client, is it possible that he might write a Server? :D

greets.

i started writing a DOS IRC server a few months back, never finished it though. it was basically functioning: users could log in and create/chat in rooms.

i'll look for the disk i put it on, and you can try it out but i'm warning you it's pretty buggy lol :?

it only handles 10 users at once, because TCPDRV protocol stack for DOS sucks.

So what in particular sucks about it? Does it have a limit of 10 sockets, or was there a different problem?

i started writing a DOS IRC server a few months back, never finished it though. it was basically functioning: users could log in and create/chat in rooms.

i'll look for the disk i put it on, and you can try it out but i'm warning you it's pretty buggy lol :?

I think 10 Users and create rooms will suffice for me. Can you upload it to your page? :D

Hi there,

greets.