• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Finally got my long awaited ][, need help identifying rev

RWallmow

Veteran Member
Finally took delivery of my long awaited Apple ][, from what I can tell it does NOT look to be all original, case/keyboard look much older than power supply and motherboard, but I am far from an expert on this so I am going to post some photos here to see what others think.
Also I got a "rainbow cable" Disk ][ SN A2M0003-24469, ROM Card (missing D8 ROM), and copy of "Apple ][ Basic programming manual", but NO Disk ][ card (I have a few spares though).
It looks to me that at some point in time someone had installed a RAM/Language card due to the missing RAM IC, so I will have to replace that chip, or get a hold of another RAM/language card (for testing I will borrow the language card from my ][+).
I have not yet tried to power any of it up yet, its quite dirty and I will be cleaning it up before I even attempt a power up.

IMG_0442.jpgIMG_0443.jpgIMG_0444.jpgIMG_0445.jpgIMG_0447.jpg

View under keyboard (2nd post due to 5 photo limit on posts)
IMG_0448.jpg

You can really see the layer of crud on the motherboard in this shot, this is why I am NOT powering on until its cleaned up, you could say this one is a "barn fresh" find ;-)

It looks a II+ board to me, or a very late II that doesn't match the case, probably it was upgraded at some point.
Datecode (23rd week of 1980) and black edge card connectors without flanges suggest a II+ board.
My II is s/n 20189 and it has dark green connectors with flanges and datecode is 7908.

It looks a II+ board to me, or a very late II that doesn't match the case, probably it was upgraded at some point.
Datecode (23rd week of 1980) and black edge card connectors without flanges suggest a II+ board.
My II is s/n 20189 and it has dark green connectors with flanges and datecode is 7908.