• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Future of AS 400 and Net

technocator

Hi All,

First of all I am a newbie on this site. I was trying to find out how could I post a question on the forum but all I could find was the post a new article link. Please excuse me for posting questions in the articles.

First question: how do I post questions on this forum?

Second question for which I came here, actually there are a lot of questions :) I would greatly appreciate immediate help as I have to respond to the managers by tomorrow. They only told me of this opportunity yesterday. Apologies for such a short notice.

In the company that I work for, I got an opportunity to travel to US for about an year to work on migrating AS/400 to .Net. I want to take up this opportunity as it has some good financial prospect + I will get to have some new experience working with the client but am a little apprehensive about it.

All I know about AS/400 is it is a legacy technology and that the client is migrating their software from AS/400 to .Net. With help from experts on this forum, I want to understand what exactly is AS/400 and what is its future? Is it a server, a framework, a language - what is it? How are programs written using this technology?

Is it worth it for an experienced .Net developer to devote like half a day for several months to learn a legacy technology to port it to .Net? I understand .Net is anyway involved in this and I will learn more of .net while doing this work and that it can add weight to my resume, learning a new technology while doing project development is going to be a challenge. I just want to make sure taking so much of pain is worth it and I would be able to leverage this in future.

Could you guys please help me understand if there is a possibility of growth in future using the AS/400 - .Net combination?