• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Help with a Presario CDS 720

afternoondelete

Hi everyone -- I'm a(n extremely green) newbie to the hobby hoping to get some help restoring a Compaq PC, any help would be appreciated.

I purchased a Compaq Presario CDS 720 on Craigslist last month, and it arrived in great condition, updated memory, Win 3.1 and various applications pre-installed. One day, abruptly on booting, I received the 1782 Disk Controller Failure error message. Because I am a dumb newbie, I just pressed every button that it gave me the option to press until something happened -- namely, F3 to save settings (if I remember correctly), making it impossible to boot the computer at all.

I opened it up, checked the IDE connection, all of the hardware looks fine and in place. So now I'm attempting to restore the computer from scratch, using disk images of the Quick Restore utility. I created a floppy disk that seems to be working fine, but for this model the floppy and CD need to work in tandem, and I can't seem to get the computer to recognize the CD-R that I've burned of the Quick Restore .iso (both files are from here: https://archive.org/details/compaqcds_quick_res_disks)

Specifically, this is what happens when I boot the computer with the floppy and CD loaded -- it simply stops at this screen:

r/vintagecomputing - Help with a Compaq Presario CDS 720

Then, if I CTRL-ALT-DEL, it *fails* to recognize the CD drive, and prompts me to make sure the Quick Restore disc is in the tray.

Once I press any key, it kicks me to the dir for the floppy drive, where I can't do anything useful.