• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM 5151 Monitor, bright spot when turning off

pcdata76

Experienced Member
Last week i picked up an IBM 5151 together with a clone XT computer. I'm new to pre-386 computers and their accessories and didnt used a 5151 monitor till now.

Monitor is functioning without problem, image is clear and crisp, but when i turned off the computer, monitor turns off with a very bright spot around the middle part of the screen. Is it normal for these monitors or something needs repair? (aged capacitors in monitor, or something bad on clone MDA card maybe?) In color monitors there is a circuit which turns the electron guns off just before turning the deflection off during power loss to prevent phosphor burn caused by bright spot at the middle of the screen, but i have no idea such a measure is built on these monitors too. Before starting to troubleshooting, i wanted to ask.

I recorded a video, http://vid1376.photobucket.com/albums/ah14/pcdata76/KARISIK/CAM00794_zps3gfn7lmu.mp4

If you have the 5151 power cord plugged into the rear of the 5150 power supply.......turning off the 5150 power switch turns
off the 5150 and 5151 at the same time. Have you tried just unplugging the 5151 power cord to see if the symptoms are the same ?

Last edited:
Tried that with mine and it is an improvement. When I power off cpu and display at the same time, the display collapses to a bright line down the center. When I unplug the display first, it collapses to a one inch band
down the center then extinguishes so not as harsh. I don't see any phosphor burn so it does no damage anyway.

Larry G

Interesting, I had training on CRT's and the Sony Trinitron but had not heard of the use of an aluminum film to protect the phosphor.

Larry G