• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Mac SE/30 revival

bcc

Have recently picked up a Mac SE/30 I have been attempting to restore. (It called out to me).

I have zero experience with old Apple products as I was focused on CP/M-80 and The PC's of Dell for years.

The system had the HD stripped out of it, no Keyboard, mouse or diskettes of any kind.

Managed to pull the board and replace the capacitors and Battery.

Sourced a keyboard and mouse (shaky/jerky response)

Replaced one SIMM socket that was busted.

Restored/rebuilt the 1.44 Sony DS/HD Floppy drive with auto inject/eject issues.

Replaced the std ROM with a 32 bit "clean" rom module and bootable drive using CTL-R into 7.01

Upgraded Memory Simms from 5Mb to 68Mb.

Finding some difficulty in locating a suitable SCSI drive adequately sized and able for the OS to format...have an 18GB 10K Quantum SCSI non-Apple drive but understand if I ever install OS 7.6 I would need about 70-80 GB drive just to install that OS...true?
I have been targetting install of System 7.5.3.

Understand a modified Disk utility can format non-Apple HDs (but running into OS mismatch issues and lack of an installed HD is also a short term problem).

Still search for a suitable SCSI drive, but now considering installing SCSI2SD drive. Is there a particular recommended supplier and/or thread on this topic?

Also picked up an Assante card suitable for the SE/30, but finding it extremely difficult to locate the chassis bracket to mount the I/O connector board (see pictures). Any help appreciated on locating one of these...Is there a way to know if that bracket exists in a system by Partnumber? How were those brackets supplied?
Anyone have a spare to sell?

Attachments

• a9140ee6-7ea0-11e6-857e-8b677b831c13.jpg
    a9140ee6-7ea0-11e6-857e-8b677b831c13.jpg
    64.7 KB · Views: 1
  • se30_net_bracket.jpg
    se30_net_bracket.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 1