• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Memory allocating in DOS

per

Veteran Member
I am currently trying to modify "Animator" to allocate buffers instead of keeping them in the file (program size reduced from 64K to 6K). However, I've never used the allocation commands before, and I need some help to make routines that works (the ones I got now just seems to work).

The first is to free the not-in-use memory allocated for my program. I decided to use DOS call 4Ah.
Code:
mov ah,4Ah
mov bx,0140h    ;rounded-up program size (should I include DOS' file prefix too?)
mov dx,cs
mov es,dx
int 21h
This does seems to work, but I won't guarantee if I'm safe. After this, I uses DOS call 48h to allocate just the memory I need.

Is my 4Ah routine safe enough?

I had to look this up, and I learned a little bit while doing it.

The book I have suggests making the call right after the program receives control from DOS. The ES register should point at the PSP and the number of paragraphs necessary to run should be in BX. You should leave room for the PSP in the allocation size and round up to the nearest paragraph boundary.

I think the only thing that I might change in your code is if you are using an assembler use offsets and some arithmetic instead of the hard coded constant that describes the size of the allocation you need.

If you want to dynamically allocate buffers after this then use function 48.

I had to look this up, and I learned a little bit while doing it.

The book I have suggests making the call right after the program receives control from DOS. The ES register should point at the PSP and the number of paragraphs necessary to run should be in BX. You should leave room for the PSP in the allocation size and round up to the nearest paragraph boundary.

I think the only thing that I might change in your code is if you are using an assembler use offsets and some arithmetic instead of the hard coded constant that describes the size of the allocation you need.