• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

need help with a Apollo 735/99

Starshadow

Experienced Member
Hi, i'm a noob :rolleyes: . Someone gave me this awesome old HP-UX system, a HP Apollo 735/99 with 128 mb ram and a drive box with a CD-Rom, 3.5 floppy drive and Tape Drive. :cool:

I'm trying to get this thing to recognize the cd-rom( ultimate goal is to install a web browser and get the old battlewagon online, and give it something other than one of the stock wallpapers) i think this old beast is running HP-UX version 9.

Any ideas on how to mount a disc( its a little different from Linux) or if theres specific CD-Rom drive that work best, etc?

Did you ever get this machine working? These are really solid machines as you've noticed, and were fairly expensive when new. The chassis on mine is even signed by the assembler.

I have the general knowledge of how to get HPUX 10.20 installed off CD. Any older HP OS is not year-2000 compliant although the hardware is.

Yeah its working, but it was used by a drafting/blueprint house. Its software suite is mostly geared towards that, however it does have PEX, its 3-D rendering extensions. However theres no web browser, the sound hardware isn't enabled ( probably doesn't have the drivers installed) and it seems i can't access the CD-Rom. It does have a great looking GUI, and i dug around and found a few small games like Tetris and Columns( had to really look, but its gui supports shortcuts so they're easily accessible now).

What i'd need more likely is a copy of its OS and a extra Hard Drive ( don't want to mess up its currently configured setup) to install it on. I have a 4 gig that would fit, but it seems its going to be one hell of a search( especially in the technology blackhole that is SW Georgia) for a OS disk.

Last edited: