• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

New in electronics

UncleBinary

Experienced Member
Im new in electronics and never built a computer before any simple and easy to use processors?I already know about the 6502 and the 64C02.

Im new in electronics and never built a computer before any simple and easy to use processors?I already know about the 6502 and the 64C02.

There are a number of choices. I am most familiar with old tech systems (from a hobbyist point of view). Any old 8 bit computer will need some sort of ROM to be useful, which means you need access to an EPROM or EEPROM/FLASH programmer. The exception here is an 1802 based system, which has a built in program loader in hardware. It's tedious to use, though.

I'm particularly fond of the SYM-1. This was a very nice 6502 based single board computer that had a fairly advanced monitor program. There was also BASIC in ROM. The ROM images are available on line. A SYM-1 clone would be one of the cheaper computers to wire up, but you would need a way to burn an EPROM with the monitor image. Also, the use of simple 22V10 PALs to replace random decode logic would reduce cost and simplify things.

There's probably PIC and AVR based boards that may fit the bill, but I have no idea how expensive they are. There's also the BASIC Stamp, which I have played with.

There used to be microcontrollers that had a language built in. I have an older 8052 controller with BASIC burned into the on-chip ROM. I also have a 68HC11 based board with FORTH in it's on-chip ROM. These were fun to play with, but I do not know if you can still get these, and they weren't very cheap.

If you can save your money, the Elf2K or Replica-1 kits are a good option.

I'm always looking for interesting simple computers myself, so I"m curious what others suggest.

-steve