• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

New to CP/M how does it compare to MS-DOS?

punchy71

Experienced Member
Hi to all,
I am new to CP/M and have never actually used it before so I was wondering how it compares to MS-DOS? What is it good at that MS-DOS is not and vice versa? Or, said another way; what are some advantages and disadvantages to each?

Thank you

CP/M is a bit more simplistic than MS-DOS; it doesn't support hierarchical filesystems (i.e. nested subdirectories,) and is much more geared towards the idea of a handful of files on removable disks than the modern practice of storing hundreds or thousands of files in a hierarchy on a hard disk. One thing it does have over DOS, however, is that it's portable to a very broad range of hardware (basically anything with a Z80, a storage medium, and a serial port) and runs pretty well on most of it. (Though you do get programs that require or work better with particular systems/configurations, or just need to be fed the right control codes for your terminal in order to display properly.)

Try running with DOS/MS-DOS 1.x and you'll be awfully close. I mean, really, really close, right down to a fair number of internals.

DOS 2.0 introduced subdirectories, installable device drivers and such.

The major difference that one needs to get used to is PIP which does many things including copy. It will take some time to get used to reversing the order of the operands. CP/M PIP B:=A:*.* is equivalent to MS-DOS COPY A:*.* B:

A difference that is annoying if using real hardware is that there are many different CP/M disk formats. You can't just grab any old disk and expect to readily read it.

Later versions of CP/M had multi-tasking functionality.

...and MP/M was not only multi-tasking, but multi-user--something pretty remarkable for an 8-bit 8080-compatible OS.