• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Tiki-100 questions

knutrl

Hi

I'm pretty new to the Tiki-100 and just got one (stored well - to a good home). My knowledge of CP/M isn't that fantastic either. It now works well. I had to clean the diskette drive properly - open it up, a cleaning diskette didn't do the job. So now it reads its own diskettes properly. :D

I tried to transfer the diskettes to pc trying several 360K drives. 90% of the floppies reports sectors 2-10 only so sector 1 is missing. Is it possible that the drive that wrote these has a misaligned index hole detector starting each track too early. Cramming in 10 sectors of 512 byte is maybe a bit marginal and this is the problem. Is this a common problem?

The floppy drive is a bit special because it has head load (the pad is lowered) more typical for 8" drives. Maybe I could transfer via another drive... is it only to attach another drive? Monitor v1.30, does it support two drives? Is the cable for the second drive a straight parallel jumpered accordingly? Can it use a standard PC type 360K drive? Would it be possible to use a 3.5" in 720K mode?

Thinking that cloning disks to a good compatible drive and then to image that disk is a good solution.

Anyone here heard of "Another C Compiler" by Egil Kvaleberg? From 1982 so it is probably some kind of K&R C or a subset of that. No manual though only a disk with compiler and libraries...

Knut

If youare familiar with DOS, then CP/M shouldn't be any problem. The user-interface is very similar, and many comands are even similar or close to similar.

The hardware interface is similar to the PC, but the drive number is choosen by a jumper on the floppydrive itself. ROM version 1.30 supports only single-sided media, while ROM version 1.35 adds support for dual-side media. ROM 2.03w even supports 800KB disks (DSQD, not DSHD).