• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Troubleshooting / Repairing floppy drive on a PS/2 Model P70

kobayashimaru

Hey Everyone!
I've got an IBM PS/2 P70 that I got on eBay a few years ago and I just started playing with it again. It turns on and comes up with the normal errors for system configuration, wanting to boot to the reference diskette. However, with the diskette in the drive, it spins up, but nothing happens. I've seen references online that this can be caused by bad electrolytic capacitors on the circuit board on the drive, but also that they aren't always the problem. I could always replace the drive, but from what I understand, all of the PS/2 floppy drives had the same reliability. As I understand it, I could hack in a standard 34 pin PC floppy drive, but I don't want to lose the original look.

Thanks in advance.
Joe

Just a quick tip of advice: don't play or screw around with the motors and the alignment screws. Try to take them off one by one and you'll end up like me with a bigger issue that I can't even get out of now. The top head alignment screw doesn't want to secure anymore and now I feel embarrassed with the shivering disaster.

EDIT: I just realized you were talking about a PS/2 ModelP70, not a PS/2 Model 70! It's very to confuse the model numbers, and the former uses the IDE cable like design. My mistake!

Last edited:
IBM PS/2 P70 It turns on and comes up with the normal errors for system configuration, wanting to boot to the reference diskette. However, with the diskette in the drive, it spins up, but nothing happens. ...this can be caused by bad electrolytic capacitors on the circuit board on the drive, but also that they aren't always the problem. I could always replace the drive, but from what I understand, all of the PS/2 floppy drives had the same reliability.