• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Victory shall be mine!

chalackd

Experienced Member
And indeed victory is mine, it all started when I started playing with my recently purchased IBM Portable.

Not wanting to write a novel, here's the abridged version of my adventure.

Started out by cleaning the dust bunnies out of the works, and doing a quick check for properly seated IC's in sockets. Next I fired it up, and got the expected 'non system disk or disk error' message, so far so good.

The hunt for a boot disk didn't go so good, never did I think the day would come when I couldn't find a 5.25" boot disk laying around. Things are a bit of a mess here at the moment though so it wasn't that big a surprise. So at this point I decided to try a 3.5" drive in the machine. No luck though with the 1.44M drives, they just spat out a disk controller error, I assume now that only 720k drives work on XT's?

After some more hunting (out in the cold storage, brrr) I finally found a disk labeled 'Electric Pencil Bootable', WooHoo I thought, and tried this disk with no luck. Darn, 1.2Mb disk for sure. I tried some 1.2Mb drives in the system and again got the aforementioned controller error. Back to square one...

Time for a workaround, I hauled my primary PC over to where I was working then remembered that I had recently pulled the system disk to build a system for a friend. So I figured that I would toss in one of the old IDE drives that I have laying around in for a quick and dirty boot, with no luck. Turns out that the older OS's don't jive well with this new SATA equipped PCI-E and Dual video motherboard, not such a big surprise but a let down indeed.