• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

XT keyboard protocol

klok

Hello everybody,

I'll start by introducing myself. I'm an electronics engineer and I'm trying to develop an XT-protocol keyboard for a customer who wants to use it on his Rosemount DCS system from about 20 years old, sounds strange but apparently those rosemount systems can survive a nuclear attack. It has been installed for about 12 years and the only thing that broke down was a hard disk because someone tried a hammer on it.:confused:
Does someone know where I can find the code tables and a firm description on how this XT protocol works. It is different from AT, that I know.

Second question, I would have to test the encoder, the only problem is, what computer do we use for this? The old first IBM PC would do, but is too expensive. Is there a different solution available?

I've been googling for the last few days but I can't filter out anything usefull.

Best regards,

Christof

The first reference is the horse's mouth:

IBM Personal Computer XT Manual
Technical Reference
First Edition (Revised May 1983)

Volume I
pages 1-25 through 1-34

and

Volume II
ROM BIOS listing
Keyboard I/O
pages A-24 through A-34

You can but a converter, or do it by your self, but most easiest will be clone
AT/XT keyboard with swich, they were made until ~'93 and can be found on most 386 systems or even 486 and Pentiums I.

You just set swich to XT mode and you can connect it to the computer.

Hello Luke, Ziloo

Thanks for your answer. Are there AT to XT converters available?

Cheers,

Christof

Sorry to be a little dense, but precisely what is the issue?
It seems a little extreme to want to reverse-engineer the entire XT keyboard when it's still possible to find switchable XT/AT keyboards as a replacement. (How's $9.99?)
Or does this Rosemont machine not have the standard DIN keyboard connector?

Andy

Sorry to be a little dense, but precisely what is the issue?