• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Interesting things to do?

TheLazy1

Experienced Member
So I got my 286 setup and working and want to get started on some DOS programming in C.
Where would be a good place to begin?

I have never done anything with DOS before, only some win32 and DS programming.

What are some essential things to know?
What is the best compiler that will run on a 286 with 4MB ram?

Interesting question.

I do all of my DOS programming on a 386-40 using Borland Turbo C++ 3.0. It features:

• IDE (Integrated Development Environment)
  • Debugger
  • C or C++ with inline assembler
  • Support for 6 different memory models
  • Support for small or large projects

It was too slow for my 286-6Mhz machine, but if you use it from the command line it might be tolerable. An older version of it might work better too. Otherwise, you'll have to go back a generation to the smaller C compilers that targeted the 286. (Old versions of MS C might work.)

Another possibility is Pascal. Turbo Pascal - it's not your target language, but older versions of Turbo Pascal work very well on that class of hardware.

Mike

I tried open watcom but that did not work, unless I did something wrong or got the wrong version.
Borland C++ does not seem to work for me, it errors out for not having DPMI or something like that.

Turbo C 2.01 seems to work but I was just curious about the other options, I think I'll need a better IDE though.
Another option is to send source files to my main pc for compilation, but that would probably be a pain to set up.

I use the 'cross compile' approach for the PCjr. There is no way in hell that Turbo C++ 3.0 will run on that. :)

Older versions of Turbo C have the benefit that they are free to download and use.