• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Greetings from Down Under

Neon_WA

Experienced Member
Hi,
My name is Stuart and I’m posting from sunny Perth, Western Australia

I’m a newbie to collecting computer systems, as I have actively only collected for less than a year. I initially started collecting CPU & OS case stickers, but when my collection had reached about 700 just over a year ago it became difficult to find new ones. So I started collecting CPUs, MPUs, FPUs & eProms (presently totalling about 1400 unique chips).

Most of them I sourced locally, but along the way I came across partial & complete systems. As I have the room, I started to keep complete systems in very good condition or unique systems. Some weren’t very complete or the shells were in very poor condition. With them I removed the boards and hopefully one day will find replacement bodies to bring them back to life :D

My complete systems at present are

Amstrad PC 1640 DD
Amstrad PC 1640 SD
BBC Micro
Commodore 64
Commodore 128
Commodore Amiga
DataPoint 5500 (ALU system equivalent to 8080)
Digital VT 131 (8085 based Video Terminal)
Hyundai Super 386S
HP 9000 Model 345 (68030 system)
HP 9000 D Class (7100 Pa-Risc based Server)
IBM PC Server 320 (dual Pentium 133)
IBM PC 750 P90
IBM PS/2 Model 30 286
IBM PS/2 Model 90 XP 486
Osborne 486 DX2-66 VL Bus
Radio Shack TRS-80 Colour 2
Tandy 1000 PC TX
TANG PS (IBM XT clone)

Regards
Stu

Last edited:
Hi there, good to see another Aussie around, do you have a website? I can add you to my list of OzCollectors.

Do the HP 9000's work? as in start up? What OS are they running?

If you come across another Osborne 486-66 around I would be interested, I miss the machine I had in the early 1990s.

cheers,
nigel.

Hi Stuart,

Welcome from across the ditch, although I think I'm closer to Sydney than you are!

A nice collection of old gear you have there! What, no microbee or Dick Smith System 80 though? :)

Tez

gday nigel