• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

apple II scsi or ide?

harshbarj

Just wondering if anyone knows of a cheap place to get a scsi or ide card for a IIgs? Ebay wants $200 for an apple II scsi card.

Or a homebrew IDE card would also work if such a thing exists.

Thanks.

Apple II SCSI cards are expensive and, AFAIK, no longer being manufactured. A better bet would be an IDE card. Here are three that are still available:

MicroDrive

MicroDrive/Turbo

Focus IDE

I've no personal experience with any of them, though the MD/T received a favorable review in Juiced.GS.

Just wondering if anyone knows of a cheap place to get a scsi or ide card for a IIgs? Ebay wants $200 for an apple II scsi card.
Well, of course, eBay doesn't 'want' anything but transactions to take place. Sellers on eBay may want a particular price. But if you're patient, you might be able to get one for $100. But unless you get lucky at a thrift store or with a neighbor, 'cheap' doesn't really enter into the equation here.
Or a homebrew IDE card would also work if such a thing exists.
Here's one site with plans:
http://s.guillard.free.fr/Apple2IDE/Apple2IDE.htm

Thanks. Give that the last scsi card I bought for a IIe cost around $80 I'll just stick with that focus IDE card. I may even give that homebrew a shot as I likely have most of the parts already.

I prefer the Apple SCSI card since you can daisy chain all kinds of devices to it. The High speed Apple II scsi card can hit $200 but the normal version (fast enough for me) can be found for $50-100 on ebay.

I've got a microdrive/turbo in my IIgs, and it works beautifully. SCSI would be a great option for adding more/different devices to the system (would love a card and an SC20) but sadly I never see very reasonable prices listed on the Canadian ebay site. Many on the U.S. site, but many sellers seem to be unwilling to fill out the three pages of paperwork necessary to ship to Canada...