• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Ethernet card for IBM 5155, second opinion please

yeah both of those cards will work fine. they are designed to. i have a couple, they are excellent.

You can get EtherExpress packet drivers from here:
http://www.crynwr.com/drivers/

EXP16.COM from PKDT11.ZIP. I have that entire directory mirrored just in case.
I would strongly recommend testing it out with Mike Brutman's TCP/IP suite (mTCP). http://www.brutman.com/mTCP/mTCP.html

Thanks for the links. I've downloaded the files mentioned and will try them out when the card arrives in a few days. Any other sugestions are always welcome of cousre since I'll probably be experementing for some time with this. Please be aware that I'm not experienced with networking on vintage machines so please be patient with me. I'll probably be needing a bunch of help. But I am a quick learner.

Thanks again to all who have chimed in.

I found it useful to replace the 8088 CPU with a V20--some drivers need the augmented (80286) instruction set. But then, I was interested more in NetBEUI using MSLANMAN.

I found it useful to replace the 8088 CPU with a V20--some drivers need the augmented (80286) instruction set. But then, I was interested more in NetBEUI using MSLANMAN.

Thanks Chuck. Already got one in there. In fact there is also an 80286 in there via AST Hot Shot 286 accelerator.

@ibmapc
I'm speculating, you putting a BBS up via telnet?

~Kiyote!

Nothin' that fancy. Just playin really. Want a better way of sending files between the old and more modern machines. Been moving the CF card back and forth. But that is a pain, especialy since it's not "hot swappable" in the 5155.

UPDATE:
The Intel Etherexpress 16 works great in an 8 bit slot. Ive been playing around for days with different ways to network the old 5155 with my Win XP machine over a cross over cable.

... I was interested more in NetBEUI using MSLANMAN.

Chuck,