• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

A few questions about IBM PCs, I'm new at this...

Tr3vor

Experienced Member
Sup, I just found this forum.

I have no experience with PCs older than my Pentium MMX computer. A few months back, I found the Youtube channel for Phreakindee, or Lazy Game Reviews, and that got me really interested in DOS. So, I've been messing around with the dos mode on my windows 98 computer and tried a bunch of games, and thought that they were really facinating.
So, now I have a lot of interest in getting an IBM PC or XT
I'm sort of interested in the PC because it has a cassette port on it and it uses the same pinout as this TRS-80 Tape player I have here, And I like playing around on Basic, because I have some MC-10 computer. It would be really neat to be able to program on a PC.

Now I have a few questions concerning these computers, and lets ignore the cassette player port when the questions are answered.

1) How much should I expect to pay for an Ibm pc or xt? I know the LGR video of the ibm 5150 says around 80$ for a complete system, but I look on ebay and its much more expensive than that, and its 2012 now, so the demand could have changed.

2) how much would a CGA Card that has composite out cost? I'm not expecting to get a monitor right off the bat, but I want a computer that I can use, so I need to get one of these if it doesn't come with the computer.

3) What's the difference between the PC and the XT besides the included HDD? are HDDs compatable with the PC?

4) Are there any issues with any model of PC or XT that I should know about? Is there something specific that I should look out for?

5) Can I use a 3 1/2" floppy drive, either 720k or 1.44MB on one, as my Pentium computer doesn't have a 5.25" drive?

6) how reliable are the HDDs, if taken care of properly, do they really just lock up and die?

That's all I can think of right now. Thanks in advance.