• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Please Help Debug Assembler Routine!

Just for interest, I tried to follow the Int13h read routine from start to finish. If I've followed it properly there are something like 600 clocks spent just in jumps getting to the actual read routine.

Although even for a single-sector transfers that's only about 10% overhead, maybe there is some scope to build an even faster BIOS somehow, stripping it out to a custom BIOS specifc to the card or making use of macros more than routines etc., I'm new to the ASM stuff at this level of detail so really looking for suggestions...

BTW I have 32KB ROM on this card.

You've got a valid point--when you try to generalize BIOS routines, there are decisions to be made and every decision slows things down. One approach is to code several different versions (if you've got the ROM space) of the same routine and use a word in RAM to select the desired combination (i.e. indirect jump). Some SCSI adapters provide a little private RAM within the address space of the BIOS ROM for just that purpose ("scratch pad RAM").

You can strip the code down--or even provide a tailored DOS device driver once the system gets booted as an alternative.

Like the device driver idea, that would be very neat to keep the 'universal' aspect of the BIOS :)

is it possible that the BIOS code is somehow taking a (relatively) long time between polls?

IDE Status register is polled (or IRQ waited) before transferring first block and after transferring block. After the IDE status register reports non busy, possible error flags are tested from it and from IDE error register if necessary. Certainly the error checking should not be removed to get more speed but there are couple of other things you can try to improve speed. There are some risks involved.