• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

keyboard input in borland c++ for dos

PgrAm

Experienced Member
I'm in the middle of porting a game I wrote for SDL into normal VGA mode dos (which I must say has been very easy so far). I'm using borland C++ 3.0 for my compiler and I'm using a 386 pc with a VGA card. Does borland provide any functions in dos.h or wherever for getting immediate keyboard presses. Something like GetAsyncKeyState() in windows. How would I go about doing this in dos?

I am a competent programmer so if this sort of thing requires interrupts or reading bytes straight from the keyboard I can do that.

thanks.

Look at the bioskey( ) call ... you can poll the keyboard in a non-blocking way to see if there is something to read. If it tells you there is a key available then you can read it.

Mike

for a game, i would hook int 9h and read scancodes from the keyboard port.

What functional difference is there?

Bioskey will tell you the scan code if the user gives you something that is not ASCII. If you insist on reading scan codes directly from the keyboard, then you lose any remapping that the BIOS might be doing for you. That means the game becomes *very* tied to a specific keyboard layout. That breaks machines like the PCjr, the IBM Convertible, and anything else with a non-standard layout.

If you want to differentiate between the arrow keys of an extended model M and a standard model F in the AT line you can use a newer BIOS call for that. You do not need to take over int 9h, and doing so means that you had better be prepared for the non-standard machines out there. (As well as keyboard utilities and other TSRs that think they know what they are doing too.)

What functional difference is there?