RL02/RL01 simulator project is finished

PDP11GY

Experienced Member
Hallo,
I have a good new message. The RL02/RL01 disk drive simulator
based on the DE0-Nano board is up and running. This implementation
provides full flash support and full FAT32 SD-Card support. In
other words, we will be now be able to share all RL01/Rl02 based
software worldwide. I would be very happy if we can work together.
You can download now the entire project from my homepage direct
because FAFNER is replaced through a AlphaServer. In the project kit
is a RL02 image included which contains a bootable
RT-11XM (S) V05.04 C system with RT-11 BASIC.
Regards, Reinhard

Interesting work, am studying what you have accomplished intently with the idea of trying to duplicate it. Looks like you have about a dozen I/O lines between the ED1 board and interface to the RL data bus. I have no experience with the ED1 or working with FPGA bus structure but going to assume that the ports on the board are direct I/O and not something like a parallel port? And would wonder if the same code can be run under an emulator on a PC using a parallel port with the same results? Or are the requirements beyond the capability of a PC parallel port? Sorry to appear a bit dense about this but my education was not much beyond the Basic Stamp and not up to date when dealing the latest technology.

Reinhard,

This is really a fantastic piece of work! I just read the readme file, and what you have accomplished is very impressive. I have downloaded your files and will build one of these. Not only would I be intersted using this on the 11, but also with my RL8A controller on my 8/e. Moving files on the 8/e is quite slow since I either have to use RX01 or send over a serial line. It would be very useful to move a whole RL02 OS/8 image as simply as with an SD card!

It looks like this project can be built for about $100USD, which is quite reasonable.