• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Saved an 11/73, help me revive it!

mechaniputer

Experienced Member
I'm a CS grad student at an engineering university and there's a recycling area for old electronics on campus that I check frequently. I'm into all sorts of old computers and I have a meagre collection of mostly Apple 2 stuff, but I've always been most interested in the minicomputer era, and DEC in particular. Admittedly I grew up in the Win95-XP era, but computing history has been a hobby of mine for quite awhile. The number one machine that I most wanted to have a working example of has been the PDP-11, but I'd never had the chance to get one until today.

Anyway, I was checking the electronics graveyard and saw a large enclosure labeled "Kevex", and I quickly determined that it was a controller for an electron microscope from the late 80's. Knowing that the PDP-11 was a common embedded controller during that time period, I took apart the enclosure and sure enough, I found an 11/73.

I see that another person had a similar find back in December: http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcf...abilitating-a-little-PDP-11-73-what-do-I-need I have mostly the same equipment but I have a total of 7 boards.

Not sure if I am identifying these boards correctly... I think that I have:
CPU card
2 megabyte ram card
4-port serial card
DAQ card
Kevex microscope controller card
SCSI card
MDB MLSI-DRV11C (What is this thing anyway?)

Here are some pictures from my terrible phone camera: http://imgur.com/a/jnH1p

I'd love to get this thing running in some capacity so I'll be researching things from that other thread to get this thing powered and see what works!
Currently, I need to get the cards in the right order, get it powered somehow, and set up a terminal to play with.
If possible I would ultimately like to get it running some very old Unix. But first things first!