• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

SPARCStation 10 - Best OS Choice

gepooljr

Experienced Member
Happy New Year!

I've recently bought a SPARCStation 10. It's in great condition and has a single SuperSparc I TMS390. I'm trying to decide what OS to run on it.

My goals are:

1. Keep it close to period as possible. That rules out NetBSD.
2. Keep it reasonably functional.
3. Be able to build packages as needed with GCC.

I've narrowed it to three options, but I'm open to suggestions.

1. Solaris 2.6
2. Solaris 2.5.1
4. SunOS 4.1.4

I'm new to Sparc systems, so any advise/suggestions are welcome.

Thanks to all in advance.

Geoff

I was looking to keep it as close to original software as possible. According to my research, the SPARCStation 10 came out new in 1992 as part of the sun-4m architecture series. The software range is SunOS 4.1.2 onwards and Solaris 2.1 to 9. I've had no direct experience with either of these products.

That being said, how good is NetBSD on an older SPARC? I've used it on older x86 boxes only - never had a SPARC anything in my collection.

I used OpenBSD on a Sun Ultra with 1x133MHz UltraSPARC and 128MB RAM, and it was pretty responsive. XWindows was a little balky, but other than that I couldn't complain too much. And in my limited experience with NetBSD it's been faster still (at least when I tried it on my MicroVAX 3100/90,) so it really might not be a bad choice.

NetBSD's advantage is that it's not terribly different from 4.2BSD--if you were familiar with 4.2, you'd feel right at home with current NetBSD. And it runs on a pretty wide variety of platforms. I'd find it a very reasonable choice for mid 80s-early 90s hardware.

Slap Solaris 2.6 on it and call it good.
Totally agree. Had the same choice with my SPARCstation 5 and tested almost all versions from SunOS 4.1.4 (very hard to install) to Solaris 7. Solaris 7 was too bloated, 2.5.1 too buggy. Solaris 2.6 seems to be the best, really.