• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

TRS-80 Model 100 communication vie DB9 to Ethernet cable advice needed

retrotron

So here's my problem: I have a model 100, I have a (Arch)Linux netbook and both are connected via a DB9 to Ethernet cable where the DB9 end is plugged in the model 100, and the Ethernet end hooked to my netbook. Now here's the big question: how do I get both to communicate (as in file transfer), and what programs do I need to use? If I understand correctly, the DB9 port on the model 100 is another kind of rs232 port, right? Well... all of the instructions I googled up require me to use a nullmodem cable (or build one from scratch) and absolutely nothing about talking to the model 100 through the ethernet port. Can somebody help me out with this, preferrably with what I have? I'm a complete noob so my apologies if I sound completely clueless/oblivious. Thanks ahead :D

Retrotron,
You can't mix and match Ports on machines and expect to get communications working. I'd suggest unplugging that cable before you damage something
in one of your computers.

Stay with an RS-232C port to RS-232C Port. Your Linux machine should have two /dev/ttyS0 & /dev/ttyS1. You can verify if it also has the RS-232C
Hardware Port attached to your netbook. Of not, and you have a USB port, you can purchase a USB to RS-232C Adapter, as those work well with
Linux.

To locate the possible used COMM PORTS in *nix, cut and paste the following command:

Code:
ls -l /dev/ttyS*

Notice that ttyS0 through ttyS3 are defined as shown

Code:
crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 4, 64 2009-11-27 15:26 /dev/ttyS0
crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 4, 65 2009-11-27 15:26 /dev/ttyS1
crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 4, 66 2009-11-27 15:26 /dev/ttyS2
crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 4, 67 2009-11-27 15:26 /dev/ttyS3

User must be a member of group dialout.

Running this command will determine the Baud rate of the Port:

Code:
stty -F /dev/ttyS5 -a

and to change it to 300:

Code:
stty -F /dev/ttyS5 300