• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

I'm too entusiastic for my own good !

kepla

Hi everyone.
It seems that new members are expected to introduce themselves to the group here, so who am I to buck a trend ?
Professionally, I've been an analyst-programmer for over twenty years - working on mainframes and Unix minis. Privately, I've been 'into' micros for about twenty-five years.
Interest started as a sideline to my amateur radio and electronics hobby in the mid-70's: Sinclair Mk14, AIM-65, Elf (RCA 1802), Ohio UK-101 Superboard and stuff like that, but I couldn't afford any of it untill the Sinclair ZX80 arrived on the scene. I'd just about got that soldered up and working when the ZX81 came out, and I also aquired a Spectrum and QL along the way. My interest drifted towards the Commodore machines for a while - they had above-average graphics due to custom chips (except on my PET 2008) and a cassette interface which actually worked ! I still have a few C-64s in my collection (and C-16s). The Nascom-1 and Nascom-2 were interesting self-build machines for a while, as was the Acorn System-1 and Tangerine MicroTan-65. A Comart Communicator and Rair Black Box provided professional level CP/M facilites, but activities in the Acorn camp were soon to grab my exclusive attention.