• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Any Old Laptop?

I am looking for an old laptop that no one wants anymore. I will gladly pay for the shipping and handling on the machine. I am not looking for anything in paticullar i am a writer and it would be nice to have something to use.

Samantha Taylor

Samantha,

I have an old 100MHz '486 laptop you can have, but it's a mechanic's special. The floppy drive didn't work for a long time, and I recently stripped the hard drive from it as well. Provide another hard drive and it's a great little laptop again. I might even be able to dig up a small hard drive for it, just big enough to run a word processor. You can always use a laplink cable to replace the floppy disk.

--T

EDIT: Ok, I did it...installed a small (60Mb) drive in it for ya. I also installed a fresh copy of DOS and Win 3.1. I forgot to mention that the internal mouse don't work either, but I'm throwing in an external one that works just fine.

--T

You are so nice Terry!

Samantha;

If you ever get the chance to pick up a trs80 model 100 (or 102, or 200), i strongly recommend you do, as it is a writer's dream!

i cannot how incredibly easy it is to use this machine.

too be honest, i can't imagine not having one around. it is so effective for writing.

chris

p.s. and it uses 4 AA batteries!!!!

My weapon-of-choice for writing these days is my Poqet PC. It has completely replaced all the competition in my book. (And it runs on two double-A batteries).

--T

i just went to their site, after you mentioning this computer again.

sure beats the model 100 for size, battery use, and weight.

how easy do you find it to hook up to a printer or transfer data to a desktop pc?

you must admit the model 100 is silly easy to use a printer or transfer of data.

chris

vic user said:
i just went to their site, after you mentioning this computer again.

sure beats the model 100 for size, battery use, and weight.