• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

The esoteric art of LANS

Micom 2000

Veteran Member
I have been using computers for many years, but I must admit to an almost pathological fear of LANs, I've used modems, serial and parallel ports to transfer data to other computers using Laplink, Interlink and Lynx and even dabbled with transferring data to Commodores or Atari 8-bits using an X-- cable. I've used Teledisk and other similar programs to do a disk readable on other systems, and have unused Local Talk and other adaptors to perform compatible communication between disparate machines. I have various copies of Novell, Lantastic, PC Anywhere and many other programs to set up a LAN but somehow this esoteric art escapes me. Tho I DO RTFM.

I have a huge book called Windows NT server, a whole set of SCO, and somewhere here a book called LANs for Dummies, and a video included with WFW on LAN hookup with token ring cards in a "star" or "hub" set-up. My NEXT documents garble about NTSF. I even have an Ethernet Hub.

I usually freeze when the program calls for my NIC address and I don't proceed from there since the ethernet card gives very little indication of what my address should be, and since it's not on the INET, would it conflict with a proper INET address.

So I use sneakernet except at the moment I need a LAN to access a printer for certain reasons.

Anyone have a site to decipher this esoteric art ?

I never could understand how companies could become vast corporations like Novel just based on hooking computers together. Maybe I'm missing something, or its a psycholgical denial thing. A serial port supportive syndrome.

Or maybe an overdose of non-informative info.

Or a cabal of LINUX documentarianists tormenting me.

Aiieeee !

Lawrence

Lawrence,