• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Recent content by mechaniputer

1. M

Plastic card stabilizers in 5160?

Well this was probably due to user upgrades. All four cards installed are long cards. I'll order some card guides.
  2. M

Preserving 386 PC long term

I already removed the battery back on the day of the original posting. I'll try to clean up the corrosion with vinegar as suggested.
  3. M

Yes, exactly right. This machine has particular nostalgic value and was the first computer I ever used. I'm now a computer science professor and would like to keep this exact machine going as long as I can. If the general concensus is that it's fine to wait until something blows and then...
  4. M

Plastic card stabilizers in 5160?

Hi everyone, I was going over my 5160 to make sure there aren't any leaky components (there's a SixPakPlus card so I removed the battery). However I noticed that some of the cards wobble a bit much. Some cards have a black plastic bracket at the front end of the machine which prevents...
  5. M

Successfully removed the battery, cleaned out the dust, and reassembled it. Everything seems to be mostly working. I did find that the IDE card is a bit finnicky. I had to re-seat it several times. I kept getting 2 high beeps, 8 low beeps and no graphical output. I tried cleaning the board...
  6. M

Thanks everyone. PSU is a Fortron FS200-40. No idea if it is considered a good model. Supposedly money was tight when he built it, but computers were both a passion and a livelihood so who knows. Either way it sounds like there is a clear overwhelming consensus that I should let it be. I'm...
  7. M

Decided to do a full disassembly for the sake of cleaning out all the dust and removing that battery. See attached pictures. Looks like it is soldered pretty tight against the board. Does it look like I should de-solder it or try cutting it? Thanks.
  8. M