• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Search results

1. C

Is there a fix for the Toshiba Tecra 8000 laptop cooling fan?

I just got this Pentium II laptop on Ebay. The cooling fan rarely runs, even when the laptop feels very warm or hot. When the fan does turn on, it's only for a second or two. Is there a BIOS update to fix it, or is the dead CMOS battery the cause? The BIOS is limited and no setting fixes it...
  2. C

What are good examples of Windows Vista/7 era laptops that can run XP?

It turns out collecting used laptops is the best affordable option for me regarding retro gaming. I remember my dad had a WinVista HP Dv6000 laptop with an AMD Turion 64 X2 CPU and it ran great when downgraded to XP, but he wasn't a gamer. I know I need at least 128MB of video ram because my...
  3. C

Are my first 2 Linux Lakka test PCs good choices?

Hello retro gamers, Do any of you use Linux Lakka on old PCs? I am completely new to Lakka and I need guidance please on how old the choice of PCs can be. So I just picked up 2 old as dirt systems from the PC recycling center... Here's a picture of them...
  4. C

Are there any file size limitations with MD5 and SHA1?

Hello guys, Within now and the next couple weeks I will be starting my long awaited Bluray M-DISC backup. The discs I will be using are 100GB each and most discs will have a single, roughly 95GB RAR archive containing all the files for that particular disc. Next to that file will be a text...
  5. C

Calling all Coppermine-128 Celeron 600 owners...

Hello guys, I'm going to start using a Celeron 600MHz (66MHz FSB) CPU in a Toshiba laptop that takes desktop Socket 370 CPUs. The system will have 256MB of ram and a 32GB SD card inside an IDE adapter for the Windows 98se OS. I am downgrading the 1GHz PIII CPU originally found in the laptop so...
  6. C

Trying to remember a particular zombie game with unique bosses...