• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

32-sector 8" Floppy Disk - 3M 740-32

pbirkel@gmail.com

Veteran Member
This brand of 8" floppy disk is described as "Single-head, single-side, 32 sector, single-density".

I presume that these would be 256KB capacity, IBM-original design.

What drives would have been used with these, and what S-100 controllers, if any?

I'm thinking that the SA-801 drive would have worked with them?

Yes, I'm new to hard-sectored floppy drives ... so thanks for your forbearance!

-----
paul

The Altair (MITS) floppy drive uses 32 hard sector 8" disks. It's a fairly tight format that crams 329K onto the disk (includes meta data, payload data alone totals 308K). Wang word processing systems used the 32 hard sector disks as well.

The diskettes will work in an 800 or 801 drive - the requirement for the 801 drive depends on the controller. The additional components installed on the 801 drive are used to separate the index pulse from the sector pulses (index pulse only on the index line pin 20, and sector pulses sent on pin 24). The Altair controller does the separation of index and sector pulses itself and expects all 33 pulses to come in on the index line, pin 20. The 800/801 jumper on an 801 drive will make the 801 drive function like an 800.

Mike

Last edited:
I've seen the 32-hard-sector disks occasionally used as soft-sector ones. Most 8" floppy drives will separate the index from the sector pulses and put them on separate output pins. If your soft-sector controller doesn't connect to the SECTOR pulse on the 8" drive, you'll never know the difference.

This can occasionally throw you if someone sends a hard-sector disk for conversion and it turns out to really be a soft-sector format.

As far as I'm aware, 32-sector is the only hard-sectored 8" diskette format. Drives can be jumpered to divide this down to 16 or 8 sectors, but the same disk is used.