• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Amiga 500 to 1000 question disk reading problem

k1atn

Experienced Member
i have an Amiga 500, but am having problems reading disks.

i have workbench 1.2 on it and some games and data disks run fine, like lemmings, but other disks i put in, game or not, the screen goes blank then it goes back to the workbench 1.2 screen and nothing happens. i tried to load workbench 1.3 and it just didn't read it. others go to Amiga dos like another Amiga OS 1.3 and workbench 1.3, but it won't install. i am VERY new to amigas so i am just stumped. most every disk i put in it, the computer tried to read the disk, the screen went blank, and then went back to the workbench 1.2 screen without doing anything??? the same thing happens with my Amiga 600, and 1000.

help would be appreciated as i am testing disks for someones estate and am having trouble

thanks

k1atn

This is common. Programs and/or disks on the newer 500 may not be compatible with the 1000. I wish I could help (I am not an expert), but I can tell you that I have found that disks and programs are system or workbench specific, and it's on a case by case basis.

Hi k1atn,

The Amiga Operating System consists of both hardware AND software. The hardware is the Kickstart chip that is inside the Amiga 500. The Amiga 1000 is the only Amiga that does not have a physical Kickstart chip. Instead, the Kickstart is loaded from a floppy disk, then the Workbench or any other game can be put into the system to boot.

Since you are having trouble with the A500, we need to know what version of Kickstart you have. If you have a hard drive for your Amiga 500, then you should turn off the computer then un-plug the hard drive. Next, turn on the computer without any disks in the drive. You will see a screen similar to the following:

wb_12knail.gif