• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Assistance Creating Disk for Model 4 Gate Array

Tincanalley

Experienced Member
Okay, I have a bunch of .DSK files that I need to make into usable disks. They are programs I downloaded that use the Hires board and I've been wanting to test the board. There seems to be a number of ways to create them, but I was hoping I could list the resources I have and someone(s) could tell me the best one to use. I have never done this before, so I'm starting with basic knowledge of available utilities and apps.

I have a Model 4 GA with dual SS DD drives.

What I have to create disks:

IBM 5150 with dual Tandon DS DD drives and an external IBM DS DD drive (DOS 3.3).
IBM 8550 with external CMS DS DD drive (DOS 5).
Clone 286 with dual DS HD drives (DOS 3.3).
Pentium 233MMX with DS HD drive and DS DD drive (DOS 5).

Given those choices, which machine would be best at creating the SS DD disk? Which program should be used?

David Keil's TRS-80 emulator should run fine on this machine and can access real floppy drives for creating the disks.

and if you have a huge library, like I do, here's my vid on how I implemented a Gotek in mine so I wouldn't have to create disks :)

to create the files on USB:

Push DSK file to HFE emulator and export

OR

USE TRStools and make a NEW file
JV3 80TRK DS DD
Push the files you want into it
Push into HFE emulator
Export as HFE

Cool, but this requires some modifications to the TRS-80 that not everyone might want to do ... and you have to convert the DSK images to HFE ...
Maybe fiddling around with real floppy disks is more fun ... ;)

and if you have a huge library, like I do, here's my vid on how I implemented a Gotek in mine so I wouldn't have to create disks :)

to create the files on USB:

Push DSK file to HFE emulator and export

OR

USE TRStools and make a NEW file
JV3 80TRK DS DD
Push the files you want into it
Push into HFE emulator
Export as HFE