• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Best Operating System on Pentium Gear

Raven

Veteran Member
Obviously plain DOS will run very quickly on these machines, but what runs the best as far as more complex OSes go on this sort of hardware?

I'd imagine that for earlier Pentiums, i.e., 60-166Mhz, 95 is faster, and that for 200-300Mhz boxen, 98SE is actually faster due to optimizations and such and the capability to better use the memory that a faster system usually comes with.

I have no experience with OS/2 on any box, or Linux on a Pentium box. I've seen that older versions of Linux run well, and obviously someone wouldn't wanna throw Ubuntu 10 on there - would it even handle that?

What do you all use on your Pentium boxen and why?

I'll start:

I use 98SE on my later Pentium boxes, because it provides a combination of DOS compatibility, modern compatibility (i.e., can run fairly recent software and communicate with modern boxes easily), and speed. I've been questioning this lately, however.

I use DOS on my older Pentium boxes, usually 7.10, and it runs quite well and of course does all the things one is accustomed to from DOS. The nice thing about DOS on a Pentium is that the hardware is overkill, so you never need to worry about slowdowns, and it can run every game ever made for DOS, so you don't have to worry about system specs.

With sufficient memory Win2K runs very well.

I can't imagine that it would have any advantage over 98SE for speed or compatibility, unless you wanted to use a more recent PCI card than 98SE supports or something.. 98SE crawls on a 200Mhz Pentium when you start multitasking... at all.. and that's with 128MB RAM.

I can't imagine that it would have any advantage over 98SE for speed or compatibility, unless you wanted to use a more recent PCI card than 98SE supports or something.. 98SE crawls on a 200Mhz Pentium when you start multitasking... at all.. and that's with 128MB RAM.