• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

BIOS setup help

Amigaz

Experienced Member
Have bult together a nice PC with a motherboard from around 1990 which has an Intel 386DX 33mhz + 8mb RAM
When I got the board it had no cmos battery and the BIOS settings were lost so my problem now is that I have no clue on how to set it up for max performance.
I've never used this BIOS version/type before but I've set up it so I at least have a working at solid system but I cannot figure out how to set the HIOS to run my 386 at 33mhz, the norton sysinfo results below show the poor performance :(

Here's some pic's of the BIOS setup etc (sorry for the crap quality):

p1010340xv0.jpg

p1010344al4.jpg

p1010347zu5.jpg

p1010337ia6.jpg

Does pressing the TURBO button on the front of the computer change the performance as shown by Norton SysInfo?
If not (turbo switch not connected to motherboard, or not connected properly), the motherboard may running in non-turbo mode by default.

Does pressing the TURBO button on the front of the computer change the performance as shown by Norton SysInfo?
If not (turbo switch not connected to motherboard, or not connected properly), the motherboard may running in non-turbo mode by default.

I have no turbo button on this case...it's too new..it just has a tutbo led indicator and it's on since I've put a jumper on the turbo pins on the motherboard so it's in turbo mode all of the time

Norton Sysinfo would have reported another mhz rating than 25mhz if it wouldn't have been in turbo mode...these 386 motherboard go down to 4-8mhz XT mode when they're in non turbo

I have no turbo button on this case...it's too new..it just has a tutbo led indicator
A case with a turbo LED but no turbo switch to go with it. Odd! Must have been produced just at the time when the 'turbo' functionality was being phased out. I guess the LED made users happy that their machine was running as fast as it could.