• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Looking to find some L2 cache for my 486

Tr3vor

Experienced Member
I was looking around inside my 486 machine when I took a closer look at the cache area of my motherboard. I saw the jumpers and they were set to 256k of L2 cache. I thought that maybe the empty sockets were for more and that 256k was built in or something, but when I turned on the computer and looked around the bios menu, It said that it had none. I'm surprised that the computer wasn't throwing codes at me for having the wrong amount of cache set or something, but maybe there is another jumper to turn it off or maybe it detects it automatically. I don't know.

So I want to get some cache in this machine, since from what I've heard, not having L2 cache in a 486 that's around 25 to 33mhz makes it run like a 386. but I don't know what to look for. At least this motherboard I have lets you put cache in it, unlike those PC Chips boards I've heard of.

I'm new to this so I have a few questions:

1. cache is DRAM, right?
2. Do motherboards take certain DRAM chips depending on the motherboard, or can they take any if the chips have the right specs?
3. Can you help me find the stuff I'm looking for?

If it matters, my motherboard is a "PWA-IH4077C BD". next to this model number (I think that's what that is.) is this: "ASSY NO:4116328000XX-R02", but I think that's a serial number. The sockets also have 28 pins. I've had no luck looking for the manual or anything for the motherboard, eventually I got to some weird foreign sites and called it quits.

Thanks for the help in advance.

Cache is typically SRAM; often it's standard-package DIP chips, though sometimes it's proprietary SIMMs. The best way to know is to find documentation for the board; if you don't have a manual, TULARC is your best friend, but if it comes to it SRAM is cheap enough that you can always take a chance on just buying some.

This motherboard uses DIP chips, and not SIMMs.