• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Mac OS 10.1.4 and Apple PowerMac G3

stangman517

Experienced Member
Hello!

I'm running Mac OS 10.1.4 on my desktop beige G3. What is the latest Mac OS version I can run on my G3? It has 768MB and runs well with this version; however I have a problem.

Browser: IE v5.1, TCP/IP is configured correctly using DHCP. I can ping the Mac PC from a Win7 PC successfully, and I actually downloaded an old Safari to my G3. This tells me networking works.

Problem: my browser connects to www.apple.com, but the page doesn't complete drawing and it's all chopped up. My first thought is the browser and the Mac OS I'm running is dated or I simply need to update some software; not sure but thinking aloud.

Are updates available for this OS version? I understand IE was discontinued for this Mac OS. What is a good browser/version number I can run or any ideas on how I can fix this issue?

I am a newbie Mac guy, so I'm learning and fixing other issues as I go.

Thanks!

Is that this mac? http://lowendmac.com/1997/beige-power-mac-g3-1997/

There are several web sites out there that detail every single model of Mac, and usually include information about the minimum/maximum MacOS (since Apple always yanked that around).

According to that site, with a few tweaks, you might be able to get 10.4 on it.

If you can get 10.4 on it, you might be able to run TenFourFox: http://www.floodgap.com/software/tenfourfox/ but expect it to be painfully slow.

Problem: my browser connects to www.apple.com, but the page doesn't complete drawing and it's all chopped up. My first thought is the browser and the Mac OS I'm running is dated or I simply need to update some software; not sure but thinking aloud.