• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Parity check

evildragon

Veteran Member
Oh boy, I think my IBM is nearing it's demise.

I went to turn it on, and it started booting, and when it was connecting to a NTP server to set the clock, the entire screen went blank with this on it:

parity.jpg

So I turn it off, wait a minute, turn it on, and I kept getting this:

mem.jpg

I then turned it off, frustrated.. The memory lasted all these years and now it's dying. At this point, I'm thinking I killed the freaking thing with that Bad Apple demo I made a couple weeks ago. So now I feel I'm a bad programmer and pushed the hardware too far that it actually killed the memory, as that demo was literally, the hardest thing this IBM has EVER played.

So a couple hours passed, and I tried turning it on again, now it's booted up nice and fine. So I ran PC-Check on it and did a thorough memory test, and it passes now.

What the!? The memory was failing, now it's fine?

You're not a farmer are you? ("Parity check" - what a farmer gets from the government for not raising corn) :)

It could be a wonky power supply that's causing this (check your voltages). Otherwise, keep a log of the reported failing locations. Right now, it doesn't look like a genuine memory error.

Ok I'll keep a watch on it.

Isn't this what the power good signal is supposed to do though? The power supply levels out and tells the motherboard things are good to go?

Not completely, all it does is tell if the PSU is okay.
If it is not there at boot it will reset the CPU if it falls below spec it shuts down the CPU during operation.

Again this is taking the PSU's word for it that it's OK.

On the board of the computer this can be a different story. ;)

Ok I'll keep a watch on it.

Isn't this what the power good signal is supposed to do though? The power supply levels out and tells the motherboard things are good to go?