• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Pseudo 3d ASCII

goostaw

Idea for combining top view (roguelike type) and grid based first person rpg (ala Wizardry) in text mode. The target is an 8088/86 based PC with a CGA card.

First try in vintage c ++ (Open Watcom) and pdcurses.

Video from test (music unfortunately not mine):

On 386 and VGA it works fine, but on my 5155 it's very slow. The program logic itself works quickly so the problem is probably in display. My guess is pdcurses uses the BIOS functions to display characters in this case.

That’s why I'm going to get rid of pdcurses and display it directly to screen memory and use int16h for the keyboard.
If someone would like to look at the current code and comment or advise something, I would be grateful.

https://github.com/goostaw/pseudo3d_ascii/tree/master

Since I'm just learning, I will probably have a few questions for more experienced forum users.
I hope you will help.

Yes. Cool. Pdcurses fired.
CGA direct addressing solves the speed issue, BUT:

And although it works great on hp200lx, stock IBM CGA produces a lot of nice snow. :)

It looks like I will have to deal with this issue.

What could be the most effective method in this case?

btw. inline assembly question!

The question is for Open Watcom 1.9, but I also tested it on Borland C ++ 3.1 (same).

_asm {} used in a method of an example class "does not see" members of that class, both private and public static.
Only global or local variables can be referred to within the scope of _asm.
There is of course a workaround for this, but it seems weird.

Is it supposed to be like that?

Sample, test code:

Code:
typedef unsigned char byte;

byte far* cga_global = ( byte far* ) 0xB8000000L;

class Screen{
		byte far* cga_priv;
	public:
		Screen() : cga_priv( cga_global ){}
		static byte far* cga_static;
		void clear();
};
byte far* Screen::cga_static = cga_global;

void Screen::clear(){
	byte far* cga_local = cga_priv;