• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

SCSI-to-SD Instructions?

smp

Veteran Member
I apologize if this has been asked in the past.

Is there a set of step-by-step instructions posted anywhere for how to interface an SCSI-to-SD adapter onto a PDP-11 system? I have a very small PDP-11/23 system with an Emulex SCSI interface, currently interfaced to a small SCSI hard disk and an SCSI Zip drive. I'd like to add on an SCSI-to-SD adapter, get it running, and then make it to be my primary SCSI drive and eliminate the current SCSI hard disk.

I'm not very good at reading between the lines, so I would greatly appreciate a hand-holding step-by-step set of instructions.

Thanks very much, in advance, for your patience and advice (or pointers).

smp

smp --

This is the setup I used for my H11. I will look around and see if I took any notes during the process, but IIRC it was pretty easy to do from on-line info only. I created an emulated RD54 (which is 172MB?) to run RT11. The SCSI2SD connects to your PC by USB for configuration and setup. I have it mounted in a 3D printed case I bought on-line.

http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?52011-Running-RT11-on-11-03-with-Emulex-UC07-and-SCSI2SD is where I talked about the process a bit.

Rich

I haven't done it in awhile, but I remember it's quite simple. Hardest part is getting into the code on the Emulex to create the new drive. It's defined how to do
this in the UC manuals. I can look it up, but it should be on Bitsavers. What Emulex? I have a UC17.

Hi smp,

I have a page with some notes about how to use a SCSI2SD with a QBUS PDP-11. My page doesn't really deal with the physical interface or the configuration of the SCSI2SD board, but it does include notes about how to move RT11 images between SIMH and the SCSI2SD environment. Not sure if this will help much, but here's the link -> http://avitech.com.au/?page_id=2735

Malcolm

Thanks very much, guys. I appreciate all your pointers and info.