• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Tandy 1000SX Video Output Issue

Benson86

Experienced Member
Hi all, newbie here. Been collecting/working on vintage game systems for a couple years now but am brand new to vintage computing. I recently got a Tandy 1000SX with a matching VM4 composite monitor that's starting to have some video issues. Google brought me here to this thread: https://forum.vcfed.org/index.php?threads/dim-composite-video-on-tandy-1000-hx.73102/ But I didn't want to bump a 3 year old thread so starting a new discussion here.

My issue sounds somewhat similar, everything had been working great since I got it about week ago. Ive been spending allot of time on it playing and doing upgrades. I did notice the brightness being a little inconsistent and a little occasional shimmer in the display but just assumed it was a tired monitor. Yesterday while using it the picture dimmed by about 50% and almost immediately completely lost sync on the VM4. If I turn the computer off and back on the picture holds for about a second and then desyncs again. I tested the monitor with an NES and its completely fine no issues so I now its not the monitor. I then plugged the computer into a CRT TV and the TV does a much better job holding the sync with the signal its getting but you can tell the signal is subpar. There is a little shimmer in the image and the longer the computer is on the worse it gets, I have to assume a part is failing somewhere.

In the thread above a transitor is mentioned that would be part of creating the composite signal and if that's failing that could cause the signal strength to degrade? I dont have an RGBI monitor yet to test that output, but I did order one and should have it by Friday. Any suggestions on where to start? I don't have a scope but do have a multi-meter. I am comfortable soldering and can replace caps or transistors. Thanks!

Couple updates, I wanted to share a a quick video of what its doing :