• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Testing COMM port on XT-FDC Card...

Al Hartman

Veteran Member
I finally got the UART chips yesterday, and plugged them in.

I can't get to the disk boxes that have my old DOS diagnostic software like Norton Diagnostics, or Check-It. We put them up on the highest shelves that I can't get to on my own due to my injuries.

Can anyone point me to a downloadable DOS based diagnostic program that will run on a 5150 motherboard?

I think I can find my loopback plugs in my tool bag. But, my old 5.25 disk wallet with diags is nowhere to be found. If I can find a serial Laplink cable, I guess I could try that as a last ditch solution.

I DON'T WANT PROCOMM....

I want a diagnostic program that will test a comm port to make sure it is working. I'm NOT an idiot. I'm a Professional Computer Tech with 30+ years of experience.

I asked for exactly what I wanted...

I have it up on a shelf I can't get to due to two bad knees and three blown vertebrae.

I want some kind of comm port diagnostic tool that runs in DOS. If you can't help me with getting one, nothing else is helpful.

Everytime I ask for help, I get everything but what I asked for. Geez!!!

I DON'T WANT PROCOMM....

I want a diagnostic program that will test a comm port to make sure it is working. I'm NOT an idiot. I'm a Professional Computer Tech with 30+ years of experience.

I asked for exactly what I wanted...

I have it up on a shelf I can't get to due to two bad knees and three blown vertebrae.

I want some kind of comm port diagnostic tool that runs in DOS. If you can't help me with getting one, nothing else is helpful.

Everytime I ask for help, I get everything but what I asked for. Geez!!!

Al,

Chuck is just trying to help get you going. He is a great guy as anybody around these parts will tell you.