• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Trying to FDISK a 20meg HD?

jodyspencer

Hello .. I have a NEC D5126 HD that my IBM 5160 with a XEBEC MFM controller would not recognize under FDISK,, so I did a low level format .. then it was recognized with FDISK. but using FDISK it takes forever then it says no room for partition ... ?

I used: Debug- enter

-a 100
mov ax,705
mov cx,1
mov dx,80
int 13
int3

g=100

took about 10-15min

Then I do

Fdisk /mbr

Then fdisk

It ask me create a dos partition (1)

which I do

but it never asked my what size
it just starts the fdisk which takes 2 hrs then says no room for a dos partition
Any help would be appreciated ... Mike

Last edited:
I believe its called the 20MB Fixed Disk Drive Adapter has the Xebec Rom,, number on front of controller 62X0786 number on back 62X0776 I have jumpers set off/on/off/on.. I have interleave set mov ax,705 is that correct or does that matter? I am new at this.. Mike

I have a NEC D5126 HD that my IBM 5160 with a XEBEC MFM controller
I believe its called the 20MB Fixed Disk Drive Adapter has the Xebec Rom,, number on front of controller 62X0786 number on back 62X0776 I have jumpers set off/on/off/on..
In my opinion, that is valid.

I used: Debug- enter

-a 100
mov ax,705
mov cx,1
mov dx,80
int 13
int3

g=100
So you are following the instructions at [here]

took about 10-15min
With that controller, in a 5160, a low-level format (LLF) of a 20 MB drive normally takes between 2 and 5 minutes. 10 to 15 minutes is not normal. During the LLF, you should see the steppper arm [photo], slowly moving, from one extreme to the other. If it sometimes pauses, or sometimes moves back to track 0, then there is a problem. You may see the arm return to track 0 at the end of the LLF.

Then I do
Fdisk /mbr
Not required. Omit that just in case it is causing a problem.

Then fdisk
It ask me create a dos partition (1)
which I do
but it never asked my what size ...