• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Video Card Recommendations for x8 or x1

Just wondering if any one has used video cards that were PCI Express x1 or x8 and if you have any recommendations?

May depend on the motherboard and your PS. How about a little more info. Also, will you be using it for a gamer, videos, bit mining, etc?

I was about to say that my response was totally off topic until I noticed the Category.

Anyway, I have a master server which is now over 5 years old.

It has multiple x8 slots. In fact it ONLY has PCI, generation 2, x8 slots

Some are x16 sized but they are electrically only x8

Anyway, for years (about 5) I've been running 3, 2560x1600 monitors using 2 graphics cards

Then last week I bought after some research and finger crossing (because here in CH you can't return anything just because ) and it only damn well works.

Finger crossing because the new Gigabyte card is a PCI generation 3 card, wanting a x16 slot

Wahoo

Okay the card is

Gigabyte GTX 960 ( GM206 4GB)

https://www.digitec.ch/en/s1/product/gigabyte-gtx-960-gm206-4gb-graphics-cards-4657689

It has 3 x Displayport port

and 1 HDMI 2.0 port

and a DVI-D and a DVD-I port

and can support upto 4 simultaneous monitors (install the Nvidia software)

I am so excited about it, well mostly becuase the 2 previous cards were each 2 slot wide cards (so taking 4 slots of space)

New card is double width.

Everything works. Again so far, very pleased.

regards marcus bennett.

Depends what you need the video card for, OS, and the motherboard in question. Some server boards won't work with a video card other then the built in one (have a dual xeon motherboard like that).

May depend on the motherboard and your PS. How about a little more info. Also, will you be using it for a gamer, videos, bit mining, etc?

Yes, I forget those kind of details.