• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Old New Guy

hrobinson57

I have been using computers for the past 27 years, and have always had one or two in the house since approximately 1984. Before that I could not afford one. I seem to remember it was almost 3k for my first Tandy. I never tinkered until recently ('99 or so) with hardware, and only really started about 6 years ago to build & customize systems. So I have limited real "vintage" experience. All I remember was a course in BASIC where I learned how to do a payroll program, and refusing to upgrade from Win 3.1 until '98 had been out a while. That's about it. A couple of years ago I did fool around with an HP Vectra somebody gave me. Got it running on Linux, and after maxing out the RAM (128mb I think), hooked up to cable Internet with an adapter. Spent a lot of money, but had a good time doing it. Looking at me you would think I was standing next to Edison when he got the light bulb to work, but I am not as Knowledgeable on older equipment as I probably should be.

I was recently given a Panasonic Senior Partner "portable" computer circa 1983 from a friend who's laptop I fixed so I'm ready to do some restore work. I will have a lot of questions when I get going I am sure. So far I have just powered it up, but I need an OS on floppy as there is no hard drive. I did find an instruction book online, but not much else. I want to try and keep this as original as possible to display in my work room. I have attached a picture of my interior decoration. Hope it comes through. If there is anything I can answer I'll be glad to do so.

Hal

Attachments

• wallshot_1.JPG
    wallshot_1.JPG
    38.8 KB · Views: 1
  • wallshot_2.JPG
    wallshot_2.JPG
    31.6 KB · Views: 1
  • wallshot_3.JPG
    wallshot_3.JPG
    27.2 KB · Views: 1
Lol! I once thought how neat it would be to encase old circuit boards in clear plastic, and hang them on the wall. They have a certain asthetic quality.

Last edited: