• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Hello from southern AZ

NTEPB

Hi everybody. Well, I finally decided to stop lurking these forums and register.

First things first...wow, I can't believe how many knowledgeable people are on this site! There are too many people here to thank for giving me the motivation to blow the dust off of these old computers and resurrect them. So I'd like to pass on to everyone here my thanks! :D

About me...well, I've been working on IBM PC (and compatible) systems for years...still love them to this day. I have a very soft spot for my beloved PCjrs (yes, I know mbbrutman quite well ;)). When I can get an accurate count of everything that still works, I'll have to list them in the vintage computer collection forum (it's quite a bit). And don't even get me started on how many different expansion cards I have lying around.

As for now, when I'm not working on my old systems, I'm a computer consultant (part-time). Thank god for modern (and inefficient) Windows programming...makes me quite a bit of money. :mrgreen: I also repair older cars, and I'm also a singer and musician (for anyone who cares).

My dad couldn't believe how many people (like me) still work on these old systems to this day...and he's the one who got me started on the whole PCjr thing years ago. Go figure! Maybe I'll twist his arm into registering.

Current projects...let's see...getting my dad's old IBM workstation running again (IBM 5160 PC-XT with 5161 expansion unit), archiving my dad's diskettes (only a few thousand 360KB floppies), resurrecting some old 10MB hard drives, getting my XT-compatible 8088 10MHz to work with its built-in 8-bit IDE interface...you know, little projects! :rolleyes:

Thanks again!

Jon (NTEPB)

Welcome Jon!

I too like the PC Jr. - now if I only had one . . . there are so many nice machines - and so little space.