• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Old-school BBS and Shareware

wdatkinson

Experienced Member
Back in the day I was a FidoNet BBS SysOp. Man, I miss those days. We did with computers and modems basically what the internet does with IP addressess.

Anyway, I was digging through my garage, and found a couple of CD's full of shareware that I used to have on my BBS. That gave me the fever, so I started rummaging through my old BBS software (RemoteAccess, PCBoard and various doors and utilities) that I'd purchased over the years.

So a couple of days later, I have a working RemoteAccess BBS that I've been able to setup for access via telnet. I also have the contents of both CD's online via said BBS, as well as a local message base. No door games yet, but I'm thinking about playing with that.

That brings me to this message. Very few people I work with even know what I'm talking about when I say BBS. Fewer still can appreciate the fun and enjoyment we had back in the day and the memories I've resurrected over these last few days. I suspect that there are at least a few of you who might understand.

After doing all the work, I got to thinking. In this day of technology, why would anyone want to telnet to a BBS and download shareware for their vintage machine when I could just burn the entire CD for them for pennies and mail it to them for a few bucks? The old SysOp in me hopes that someone might appreciate the work I've done. And if not, I had fun doing it.

I haven't exposed the BBS to the outside world yet, I figured I'd post this and get a feel for what sort of audience might be out there.

I was never a sysop but I did spend a few years in the late 80s/early 90s inhabiting the BBS world. I can relate.

It was a lot of fun and great to connect to other geeks "out there".

Yes the Internet killed the BBS scene stone dead...to be replaced by things like this forum. Which when you think about it, is much better.