• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Favorite DOS Applications

Lutiana

Administrator
Staff member
So I have been doing a lot of googleling for useful DOS apps out there, and have found there is a plethora of them, so many in fact it is hard to choose.

So I decided that we needed a Thread for information purposes, so I challenge everyone out there to post their must have, favorite and fun applications here, preferably with a URL on where to get them and indicate if they will run on pre-386 machines.

Eventually we can turn this into a page for our wiki, which I am sure Terry I will like, and this may become Sticky material.

Perhaps we can build a shareware CD of the all the apps that we can make available in ISO format or something.

Cubic Player! - Not sure if it works on pre-386, necessary to play those amiga mods.

Fasttracker-II! - Probably dosn't work on pre-386. I'm no musician, but I enjoy the version of nibbles that comes with it :twisted:

Xtree Gold. I couldn't live without it until I was forced to by running Vista 64 bit. I've downloaded ZtreeWin to replace it.

I've been running it since I had my 286 - I can't remember if it ran on the 5160's at work though.

Its not shareware though so download link I'm afraid!

Attachments

• xtgold.png
    xtgold.png
    5.9 KB · Views: 1
Xtree Gold. I couldn't live without it until I was forced to by running Vista 64 bit. I've downloaded ZtreeWin to replace it.

I've been running it since I had my 286 - I can't remember if it ran on the 5160's at work though.

Its not shareware though so download link I'm afraid!

http://www.xtreefanpage.org/lowres/x60softw.htm

The 30 day trial version, and some clones of it.

I prefer Symantecs Norton Commander 5.
Check out: http://www.softpanorama.org/OFM/Paradigm/Ch03/norton_commander.shtml#nc5.5 for the history of Norton Commander.